Work time model

Work time models are used for the calculation of overtime. You can create your own individual time models in your timekeeping and then assign them to any users. The use of work time models is optional (see Settings).

Using work time models

Menu time model Only if time models are enabled in the Settings of the online timekeeping system, the menu item 'Time models' is visible and planned working time and overtime can be displayed in the timesheets. Users in roles admin, timesheet-manager or user-manager can access the work time models.

Create and modify a work time model

Create new working time model By using the menu 'Time models' you can create new work time models and modify existing one's. Click 'Create a new time model' or simply select an existing work time model for changing it. The link 'Days off work' refers directly to the 'Public holidays' tab in the settings of your timekeeping. In this public holiday calendar days off work and their potential working hours can be determined.

Assign work time models to user

User sub tab: Work time model A working time model can be assigned to a user (or rather many users). Using this working time model, the target working hours can be determined. First click the menu item 'Users' of the timekeeping and select a user, then adjust the appropriate settings in the tab 'Time models': Please simply click 'Assign time model' in order to select a time model for the user.

Assign a work time model to user At least include an 'Effective from'-date for assigning a working time model. So since that date the selected work time model is used for the calculation of the overtime. If a user has only one time model, it is sufficient to adopt the proposed 'Effective from'-date and leave the 'Effective to'-date empty. Also more then one work time model can be assigned to a user: In this case, the 'Effective to'-date is required also. This results in a sequence of time periods, in each of which a different time model is valid for the selected user. Of course two different work time models can not be valid simultaneously. So this should result in a sequence which is free of overlapping. If two models overlap, a warning message is displayed. The 'Effective now' flag always indicates the current valid model. For users with an effective work time model in addition to the actual working hours the planned working time and the overtime are displayed in the time sheet.

Carry the hours balance to the new month

Hour balance - Add carryover To carry the hours balance of a month to the new month, follow these steps: Click in the month view of the time sheet of the new month (at the bottom of the page in the summary section) to "Add carryover". The appropriate balance of the working hours of the previous month is displayed by default - and can be changed arbitrarily.

If you forget to carry the hours balance, then when you create the first time entry for the new month, a message box with the option to create the new carryover is displayed automatically. This dialog box can be switched off permanently by the "Do not show again" checkbox.